Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Felicitations are indeed in order. The third guest in a row I have entertained before Shehanne. And in each instance not just any old guest either. Skipper Jane, Milady Cavendish, who we never treat as just any old guest–no, no– and the lovely Milady Van Zandt, all the way from Austria no less. She is so well known here with the gondolas Flint stole in her honour, oh, and there was the matter of that lovely wolf picture she bestowed upon me, that entirely wrecked the video Shehanne was making of His Judas Bride…

product20image20675by45020halloween20frames1

and caused her to have an apoplexy when I saved it and it somehow replaced the frame she already had. Anyway enough has been said. Having escaped the cursed dry land of the Pendle Forest, do let us proceed.

Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover today here in Castle Combe, Wiltshire. A lovely, a beauteous stately castle

Castle Combe - filming War Horse


You mean it’s not?

Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Goodness. Oh very well. What is another picture mix up between friends, dear Milady?

castle_combe_street

All right . Push not your luck. Can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland?

I had a bit of an adventure actually. I was pursued by an ancient Norse god – and a fairly wicked one at that he told me his name was Loki and he kept wafting this incredible necklace around and ordering me not to tell Freya. As if!

Freya

Heavens. Someone who is scarier than moi. Does she have a broomstick too? The crew are making you welcome I trust?

Most definitely – although they are being extra nice and I think they’ve got an ulterior motive. I reckon they’ve got their eyes on my little package.

Ask no questions Milady. Get no lies told. Although I must say…..you have brought me a most pleasing little gift I see.

It’s a bit more than that, Milady, I managed to extract Freya’s special necklace – Brisingamen -from Loki when he was busy chatting up your cook. Susan is it? Now, guard it well, Milady. Brisingamen was made by the finest craftsmen dwarves and it contains special, magical powers. Plus Freya will be furious if she finds out you’ve got it.

Brisingamen (1)

Gracious but I will. Ah, the dark hours this will keep me in good fettle in! So long as dear Freya does not find out and come looking. I would so hate her to come off the worse in that encounter. Now I have for you to give Loki, just so the next time he chats a lady up, his trouble is worthwhile. 

Freya

Now….you have met the charming members of the club. Can you tell us why we should each of us spend a week reading your book  apart from the fact you once upset dear Shehanne……

Freya’s Choice is a paranormal/action/adventure novel with a dash of romance and more than a hint of fantasy. Here’s the blurb:

Nothing much happens in Abbey St. Francis, but Freya’s about to change all that…

Eve Lawson is no stranger to heartbreak. Three years ago, the man of her dreams betrayed her and left her unwilling to trust anyone ever again. So when gorgeous hunky farmer, Mark Latimer, starts to take more than a casual interest in her, she is cautious and nervous of committing either her mind or her body to him. But the attraction is there, and it’s growing. All Eve needs is just a little more time.

Abbey St. Francis has been Eve’s home all her life – a sleepy, pretty village where nothing much happens and traditional values are held true. No one suspects that the beautiful young woman who has just moved into West Lodge is anything other than a wealthy and generous benefactor. But Freya Nordstrom is not what she appears to be.

Then the mysterious stranger takes more than a passing interest in Mark, and Eve knows she has a battle on her hands. But never in her wildest dreams could she have imagined the nature of the forces stacked against her.

Well, do I know the feeling, dear lady, the book is on my bedside table. While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women, he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? Already we have four gondolas aboard.

Hmm, now that’s a tough one. Of course, you could always show him Brisingamen and tell him that, unless he can top that, he can forget bringing anything else on board. Trust me, nothing tops Brisingamen! You could also point out to him that he really should pay more attention to navigation and less on avarice. If he had done so this week, then maybe the ship wouldn’t have taken that wrong turn at Folkestone. Then it wouldn’t have ended up sailing along the M25 and the M4 and landing in Castle Combe – which is in the heart of England. No place for any self-respecting ship and its crew of pirates to finish up.
.

I totally agree. He was a little……distracted at the time.
Mama’s kitchen https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=ts
most thoughtfully provided our fare today, largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches. But also because Freya looks like she needs a horse. Freya

 

Do you have any tips for making them –the men, not the horses– try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught.

I don’t think they’ll be doing much frolicking this trip. Only 350 people live in this village! I think they’ll have a hard time tracking down any suitable wenches…there seem to be rather a lot of soldiers around.

Hmmmmm… I cannot imagine why. Castle Combe is lovely I am sure, what sites—if any– do you intend visiting here when you leave the ship? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never saw me, or Flint?

Of course I’ll sign. I saw no one…

Now I’ve given Loki the slip I think I’ll take myself off to Lacock Abbey.

Lacock AbbeyThey filmed some of Harry Potter there and it’s also been used in the new TV production of ‘Wolf Hall’. Fascinating place…supposed to be haunted too.

Lacock Abbey ghost I’ll take my camera. You never know what (or who) I might pick up…

FreyasChoice

Freya’s Choice is available here: http://www.amberquill.com/store/p/2117-Freya-s-Choice.aspx

Amber Quill Press
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
ARe/Omnilit

 

