Did I award Milady Cavendish a top visitaaaaaaarrr award? I believe so. She has visited us so many times with her eye for Flint,  the wonder is I continue to let her, but there, all is fair in love and war. Of course I very much love her–no Shehanne did not break my arm to say so–which is why it gives me great pleasure to welcome her with her new, shortly to be released book. Alas I cannot say where exactly because I believe it is the sort of place a ship would not normally go……. What more can I say except that things are never straight with Milady Cavendish around.

Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover today here in the Pendle Forest – a forest without trees no less, Pendle Forest - with Pendle Hill

which is just as well as we would not want the ship caught in them and then sort of looking like the cover for your new book. Pendle Curse - cover art

Putting aside the fact we can see a ship there–sort of–,  can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland? Could it be worse than ours?

Well, it was a bit hazardous actually.

Saying nothing;….

I mean, I’d just had my broomstick serviced but it has got rather a lot of miles on it and it’s not really supposed to go out in such weather. I’m a bit worried about it actually. The twigs have gone all limp.

broomstick

(Next she will be accusing me of taking it off her head…)

 I mean….. Taliano will soon bite that back into shape for you, dearest Milady Cavendish. The crew are making you welcome I trust? Myself especially?

 Oh yes indeed, thank you very much Milady. After they’d finished crossing themselves and making gestures at me to ward off the evil eye, we all got along famously.

Gracious, I cannot think why. I mean why they would make gestures and think you were evil….just because you wanted to steal Flint….

I do wish they’d stop wearing all these garlic garlands though. I’ve told them I’m not a vampire – I’m a witch. We eat garlic.

garlic garland

 

Well, I did wonder what the smell was  and I should like to assure you the garlands were not my idea to ward off Flint, dear Milady. MUCH.

You have brought me a pleasing little gift I see.

Yes indeed, here is a charming little trinket from my favourite shop. Witches Galore in the pretty little village of Newchurch-in-Pendle.

Alizon Device - witch doll from Witches Galore

Heavens, so long as no-one mistakes it for me, just because it is wearing red and when it comes to witches galore people might get the wrong idea,.. Now….you  have met the charming members of the club. Can you tell us why we  should each of us spend a week reading your book?

 Well, here we are in the heart of the haunted Pendle Forest. As you have said Milady, the very name is ironic. There’s barely a tree in the whole area – and those that exist are bent almost double because of the howling gales and the lashing horizontal rain. These parts saw one of the most notorious witch trials that ever took place. It was in 1612…but some memories linger long after death…

Lancaster Castle - the Well Tower steps

Four hundred years ago, ten convicted witches were hanged on Gallows Hill. Now they are back…for vengeance.

Laura Phillips’s grief at her husband’s sudden death shows no sign of passing. Even sleep brings her no peace. She experiences vivid, disturbing dreams of a dark, brooding hill, and a man—somehow out of time—who seems to know her. She discovers that the place she has dreamed about exists. Pendle Hill. And she knows she must go there.

But as soon as she arrives, the dream becomes a nightmare. She is caught up in a web of witchcraft and evil…and a curse that will not die

Heavens…. I hope it is not catching for you Milady.  

While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women….including your good self….. he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? Already we have four gondolas aboard.

I suppose I could cast a spell. As you see, I have brought my trusty cauldron.

cauldron

No. I mean of this, I am unsure. I mean outright…NO. Not that I would worry what your spells might involve.  We just wouldn’t want the gentlemen to be scared. Taliano might worry you would cast a spell to make his remaining teeth fall out. Mama’s kitchen https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=ts

kitchbn

most thoughtfully provided our fare today, largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches…AND I am mute re this cake.  Do you have any tips for making them try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught.

  Dear me, no, no, and no again. If you’d seen what they got up to with that garlic you would never put them within a mile of Susan’s kitchen.

It makes me shiver to remember it. And makes my eyes water. How did that toothless one manage to get it up there in the first place? That’s what I don’t understand…Oh no, I couldn’t possibly elaborate further, Milady. Not in mixed company….Maybe later when you and I are sitting enjoying a glass of your most excellent wine.

 Me Drink? Except with you. Actually I do remember ….hic…how ..you hic …brought me wine before….. 

Pendle(hic)  is lovely I am sure, (hic) what (hic0 sites—if any– do you intend visiting here when you (hic) leave the s-hic? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never -hic-saw me, or Flint? 

Believe me, I only see what I want to see – and my memory can be exceedingly short when it suits me. Where’s the pen? I’ll sign.

 Goodness. what a first that is….

Now then, where indeed shall I go? I believe I shall visit Lancaster Castle. I shall go down the steps of the Well Tower – also known as the witches’ Tower. Pendle-Witches-dungeon-Lancaster-Castle

 

My dear, are you sure? We would not like anyone coming down the steps behind you and pushing you.

Lancashire witch hangings

Here, in 1612, Alizon Device, her grandmother Demdyke, Old Chattox and her daughter Anne Redferne were imprisoned, chained together in a stinking hole. I intend to commune with them…

Pendle Curse - cover art

The Pendle Curse is published in the usual ebook formats and in paperback.You’ll find it here:

 

Samhain Publishing

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Kobo

 

