Tags

, ,

 

Gracious, I vow and swear, how devilish is our latest guest. A gentleman too,
payl
which we know I always behave around. Milord Paul Kennedy no less, who hails from Shehanne’s home town of Dundee. Well, no-one is perfect. No seriously, Milord Kennedy does and not only that, in honour of that fact and to save him hauling himself long miles to see us, we have brought the Palerna to him. Not quite in Dundee. No alas we are very wanted in Dundee, and not for the right reasons either after Flint went and did bad things with Captain Scott’s ship…..newspaper

 But we have berthed a stone’s throw away up the coast at Broughty Ferry which Shehanne also lived in for a time… paul

Genuinely too when it is fair to say that when it comes to selling houses, half of Dundee population lives within Broughty Ferry’s elastic boundaries.

Anyway, enough of such trivia.

Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover today here in Broughty Ferry, once  a fishing village, now a pleasant place boasting a castle

paul4

a beach

paul3

several coffee shops, bars and restaurants and Bob Servant.paul3

Can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland? 

Hi, and thank you for having me. The journey from the homeland was one fraught with danger for me. You see, I made my daring escape from The Broughty Ferry last year; travelling as far as the rolling hills and lush fields of rural Perthshire.paul3

As you can imagine, my return trip down the Tay estuary, was an adventure I embarked upon undercover of darkness. I carefully avoided dog walkers, and lovers; as they enjoyed moonlit trysts – and that is as tangled as it sounds – only the dogs come out of that with any dignity.

paul4

Gracious Milord…I may call you Paul… So long as we do not mean the ship called Dignity.  I mean we have enough ships stolen around here.  The crew are making you welcome I trust?

The crew made me feel most welcome. Particularly the fellow who owns the wee dug?…

Hmmmm? I cannot imagine for one single solitary secondwhat Shehanne’s other hero, the Black Wolf would be doing here. You have brought me a pleasing little gift I see. get-attachment

I have brought you two pleasing gifts. I am not a dog owner but I have brought photos of my beloved cats: Julian (black and white) and Macavity. Surely more beautiful boys, you’ve never laid eyes upon?

Well, that would be telling, Milord Paul..  Now….you  have met the charming members of the club. Can you tell us why we  should each of us spend a week reading your book, I am going to whisper this as you can see we have one sitting there avidly amongst our book club members, a Murder of Crows?
crow
 And charming they are…my book is a novella. Once you pick it up, you won’t be able to put it down – so I’ve been told – and it could be read in one night easily. It mixes dark fantasy with gritty (sur)realism, and hints at romance, but perhaps more realistically than the hearts and flowers, idealism we all feel pressure to find and conform to (less we be deemed failures.) I hope there’s a little something for everyone, without deliberately trying to write something for everyone, if you know what I mean. It’s also the first “proper” book in the series so a must read if you wish to follow the next few releases.

Well, I think we got away with that with your eyes intact, Milord Paul, thanks to a little distraction by our parrot Myrtle.   While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women, he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? Already we have four gondolas aboard and I can see he is eyeing that lifeboat.

pau;6

I should not like anyone to drown because he stole it. To sink beneath the weight of these canons either.
paulc
Perhaps you could distract Flint with your own booty? DON’T let him get a dog – I’ve seen dog owners use these poor animals as an excuse to have illicit rendezvous – the dogs don’t mind, they love the freedom of going off and doing their own thing, but more than once I almost capsized because of their frolicking. Try explaining to Flint that his behaviour is socially unacceptable. Display this by taking away one of his possessions? Raise some extra cash in the summer months by selling cornetto ice creams to young beautiful people.
Hmmm. You mean you think I should be poor?

Mama’s kitchen https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=tsBlog of the Year Award 1 star jpeg

most thoughtfully provided our fare today, largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches.  Do you have any tips for making them try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught.

 Given your crew’s propensity for debauchery, I think poor Susan would prefer NOT to be stuck in the galley with them. Give Susan the day off, and let your crew fend for themselves. They might then appreciate what Susan does for them and how hard she works. Take those boys in hand.

Broughty Ferry is lovely I am sure, what sites—if any– do you intend visiting here when you leave the ship? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never saw me, or Flint? 

I enjoy the beach and a visit to the castle whenever I’m in Broughty Ferry. There are some lovely quaint little shops along Brook Street, and a gorgeous nature trail just off the East end of the esplanade I would recommend.

 

paulcAs for Flint and your good self? Thanks for having me, but the second I step off the boat, I’ve never ‘eard of ya! 🙂

PAUL KENNEDY>

paul

Rejected by the Father she never knew, and abandoned by the Mother she barely remembers, life has been a constant battle for twenty year old Gavenia. Now Steffan, the charming – but enigmatic – stranger has entered her world. Gavenia is about to be taken on a dark journey of the soul. She will be pushed to the edge of sanity, as she’s forced to confront her demons.http://www.amazon.co.uk/Murder-Crows-The-Black-Crow-ebook/dp/B00JD08PZK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1396372883&sr=8-1&keywords=paul+kennedy+a+murder+of+crows+on+kindlek.

And follow him here. https://www.facebook.com/paul.kennedy.908

 

 

