Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Well, such a hectic time it has been, what with the Lovely Milady Black having her new book out, then of course, my good self appearing in print, I have had hardly had a mo to spin the ship around.  But no, some of you may have seen the heading before—this is not a reblog.  This is welcoming of the lovely, horror writer extraordinaire  Milady  Cavendish and her NEW book, a thrilling tale, let me tell you, written in the finest horror traditions too. After having Milord Marshall aboard in the middle of the ocean, it is a pleasure to drop the anchor on dry land. The lovely town of Boscastle in Cornwall, no less. So..with out further ado.

 

Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover today here in Boscastle.Boscastle

A most charming  place I sense the gentlemen, Myrtle and Crow will be right at home in. Can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland?

Well, it was a little hairy up there on Bodmin Moor.Mist_on_Bodmin_Moor (2)

The wind howled and the rain lashed down. Horizontal rain – the like of which I haven’t seen since I last visited Caithness in the far north of Scotland. The mist descended and, in the distance I’m sure I heard the baleful howl of the massive black hound of hell who haunts the area.

Bodmin_Hound (1) I was forced to stay the night in Jamaica Inn.

jamaica_Inn It was not a peaceful one. The corridors echoed with the clanking of chains. I heard a carriage pull up outside and when I peered through the window, I saw the strangest sight: ghostly figures dressed in 18th century garb, dragging barrels, from the Inn across the yard. They heaved them up into the carriage, which was drawn by four jet black horses with flaming red eyes.ghost_horses_and_carriage

As they saw me, they whinnied and reared up. It was a fearsome sight, I can tell you.

Gracious? Jamaica Inn? I am surprised there was all that noise there. Do you know I watching  a recent adaptation on the telly which had neither sound, nor vision? Certainly one needed one’s subtitles and one’s every ready torch. But perchance this was a different Jamaica Inn? Although I must say it does not look it.

The crew are making you welcome I trust?

Oh indeed they are. Most welcome. One or two of them look a little familiar though. Last night, I could have sworn…Never mind, no matter.
.

Hmmmm. (Taps fingers) I am sure Flint was with me all night…. You have brought me a pleasing little gift I see.

Oh yes, she is Joan The Wad – the traditional queen of the Pixies (or Piskies as they call then here in Cornwall). For luck and good fortune.Joan_the_Wad

That you think this will induce me to let you go after your indiscretion last night, certainly shows you believe such fairy tales….  Now….you have met the charming members of the club, including myself, can you tell us why we shouldn’t just throw you over the side….I mean  each of us spend a week reading your delightful book?

Linden Manor is Gothic and ghostly, with twists and turns in the plot and plenty of dark shadows. In fact, the anthology it is part of is called, What Waits In The Shadows. There’s nothing like a good scare to get the adrenalin flowing!

Yes…. I am glad yours is flowing now. It makes for a much more interesting visit. While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women, he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? Already we have four gondolas aboard.

I’m afraid you won’t get far with a gondola in the sea around Cornwall. It’s much too rough. Of course, there are plenty of secret coves around here, and long traditions of smuggling. Then there are the Wreckers. They were a little too enthusiastic at times and didn’t necessarily wait for ships to be wrecked by the waves crashing them onto the rocks. They pitched in and helped. Oh dear, I don’t think I can help at all. Around here, Flint is going to fit right in. Probably best if you keep him occupied until it’s time for you to set sail again, Milady

Me? You seem to be doing a fair job yourself, Catherine. 

Mama’s kitchen https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=ts
most thoughtfully provided our fare today,pirate-11

moi…..in case you have forgotten..largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches. Off shore too.  Do you have any tips for making them try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught. Already I am that way. Do you want to risk more?  

Fortunately, not too far from here, is the charming town of Padstow where the noted chef, Rick Stein has some restaurants. He seems like a nice chap, Milady and I’m sure you could use your considerable charm to entice him to run a cookery course for the crew. What he can’t do with a fish isn’t worth doing, I can tell you!

Boscastle is lovely I am sure, what sites—if any– do you intend visiting here when you leave the ship? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never saw me, or Flint?

I’ll just find my pen…There we are, all signed. Now then, I shall first visit the intriguing and amazing Museum of Witchcraft.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI really need a new broomstick.

Yes…well…. It may not be all you’ll need leaving here….

Then I’ll fly off to Tintagel and spend a bit of time walking in King Arthur’s footsteps – just hope his feet weren’t too large.

TintagelProviding I don’t fall off the edge of one of those cliffs, I’ll pop into a nice roadside café and indulge in some fresh baked scones, clotted cream and homemade strawberry jam.

Yes…..

Did you know that the difference between a Cornish cream tea and a Devonshire one is that in Cornwall, the jam goes on first, followed by the cream? In Devon, they do it the other way round.

cornish_cream_tea

I am saying nothing, especially with regard to your own face Milady Cavendish…

Thank you for having me, Milady. It’s been a memorable and enjoyable visit.

Indeed….cover_art

Now, here’s a flavour of Linden Manor:
Have you ever been so scared your soul left your body?

All her life, Lesley Carpenter has been haunted by a gruesome nursery rhyme—“The Scottish Bride”—sung to her by her great grandmother. To find out more about its origins, Lesley visits the mysterious Isobel Warrender, the current hereditary owner of Linden Manor, a grand house with centuries of murky history surrounding it.

But her visit transforms into a nightmare when Lesley sees the ghost of the Scottish bride herself, a sight that, according to the rhyme, means certain death. The secrets of the house slowly reveal themselves to Lesley, terrible secrets of murder, evil and a curse that soaks the very earth on which Linden Manor now stands. But Linden Manor has saved its most chilling secret for last.
Linden Manor is available from:
Amazon.com
Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.ca
Amazon.com.au
Kobo
B&N

Catherine Cavendish is joint winner of the Samhain Gothic Horror Anthology competition 2013. Her winning novella – Linden Manor – is now available in all digital formats and the print anthology will be published in October. She is the author of a number of paranormal horror and Gothic horror novellas and short stories. Her full length novel, Saving Grace Devine, will be published by Samhain Publishing in the summer.
She lives with a longsuffering husband and mildly eccentric tortoiseshell cat in North Wales. Her home is in a building dating back to the mid-8th century which is haunted by a friendly ghost, who announces her presence by footsteps, switching lights on and strange phenomena involving the washing machine and the TV.

When not slaving over a hot computer, Cat enjoys wandering around Neolithic stone circles and visiting old haunted houses.
http://www.catherinecavendish.com
https://www.facebook.com/CatherineCavendishWriter?ref=hl
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4961171.Catherine_Cavendish
http://twitter.com/#!/cat_cavendish

