Tags

, , , ,

convNo, I won’t say a good job too with regard to making them like this any more.    Captain Blood.   Oh no doubt you were expecting Milord Flynn.conv

A thief and a pirate –naturally we have a few of those about here-Irishman, soldier, graduate of Trinity College in Dublin, and doctor, Captain Blood was the brainchild of Rafael Sabatini…. conv

…here seen wearing natty skis….

convthe son of celebrated opera singers. Anna Trafford from Liverpool and Vincenzo Sabatini, whose surname Anna went by.

Milord Sabatini began writing romances–unusually for a man of that vintage–because it was more fun to write than read them.

img007

Oh really, this post is just an excuse to show a ye olde pirate book jacket, again of the type they don’t make any more. ye Sea Hawk.

Hollywood adored Milord Sabatini’s work. The 1935 film of Captain Blood made Milord Flynn a star, just as the 1924 version ended the career of J. Warren Kerrigan–conv1

Although equally, Milord Kerrigan had somewhat nailed his own coffin when he said –

“I am not going to war. I will go, of course, if my country needs me, but I think that first they should take the great mass of men who aren’t good for anything else, or are only good for the lower grades of work,’ some seven years previously. conv

Footage of the 1924 film of The Sea Hawk, turns  up in the Flynn–what Shehanne so nearly called Flint — version of Captain Blood.conv

The Flynn film of The Sea Hawk merely used the same title. Confused? I know I am.

