Tags

, , , , ,

Welcomes is perchance a trifle strong. But if I was to say ‘suffers’ now–closer to the truth–well the truth is I should find myself in splints.  Already there has been that tiny misunderstanding this week after I invited her new hero, Lord Hawley aboard and she issued this..

have you3

AND had half her writer friends over here berating me. That was half except for the lovely Milady Hunt who said I was a delight and who has become a member of our humble little book club, Squire Jack having such a fondness for her he won’t let her alone …. conv1

Squibsy, Tibbs and  Saw Tooth Dog won’t let her book jacket alone either but there, here we are today in London no less….most evident on the banner Milord Crow went and made Shehanne

Shehanne-banner

(He went and gave her these cupcake recipes too. http://shehannemoore.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/let-elyzabeth-entertain-you/

For which I am not going to fight with him …much.)

But to show there is no hard feelings, HERE WE ARE  TODAY IN LONDON, scene of Shehanne’s new series,

conte

featuring you know who.  On, not I. The Starkadder Sisterhood.

lockt

although I understand that the first book, Loving Lady Lazuli, is mainly set in rural Berkshire.  Flint and I just did not want to look like proper berks, attempting to manoeuvre the ship there.

Not only are we in London, but also to show there is no hard feelings with…Shehanne most of all,  I am going to let you in on the other little interview I conducted with Lord Devorlane, hero of Shehanne’s new book.

dev pooooosssso3Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover today here in  London.  Can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland? 

Well, Milady, I think you know as much about that as I do. Being held at pistol point in the back of a coach by that motely squad of yours  and their teeth,  is not something I’d recommend to anyone. But who the hell am I complain?  Just another of Shehanne’s long suffering heroes.

The crew are making you welcome I trust?

They were until they helped themselves to my brandy. Then  Saw Tooth Dog keeled over in the middle of his felicitations. That parrot of yours did too.  At least it stopped her making a worse noise than Laz does playing the piano. Taliano’s teeth fell out but I think he put them back in. You see the thing about my brandy is it’s not brandy. It’s laudanum laced with brandy…defdr

 Well, we must hope that Saff/Laz/ Cassidy, whatever you call her–I understand at one stage it’s bitch, does something about that. 

I won’t say what. That would be telling and there’s some things a man keeps private.

But, of course.  Who am I to try getting these little secrets…..? Despite everything you have brought me a pleasing little gift I see.

sapp6

How the   £$)( *&! hell did these get there?

Well, the fact is they did.  And very glad I am about it too. Now Milord, you  have met the charming members of the club. Can you tell us why we  should each of us spend a week reading this  book , apart from the fact it features your very good self?

Untie me and I’ll tell you.

Oh, not at all. While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women, he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? Already we have four gondolas aboard.

Only four? I think you miscounted. But then you did have these damned mates of Laz’s on board.  Why not just tie him to this chair instead of me? Not a lot he could do about that is there?

 Hmmmm. Alas,  the ropes haven’t been invented that can tie Flint to a chair. Mama’s kitchen https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=ts conv

most thoughtfully provided our fare today, largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches.  Do you have any tips for making them try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught.

Offer to show them something Milady. I did that with Laz.

And this worked  in terms of getting her exactly where you wanted?

Well…Laz is Laz, so no.

London  is lovely I am sure, what sites—if any– do you intend visiting here when you leave the ship? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never saw me, or Flint? 

You mean you’re letting me go without Shehanne breaking your arm? And if I don’t sign will that be another 10 years of my life?

You said it.

Well, . okay, The tower is nice isn’t it. Think of all these law breakers that were kept there… And while I’m about visiting I might speak to them about a few. conv Sure Laz and her mates Rube and Pearl would want to visit Harrods…not necessarily to BUY anything.

conv

While Hyde Park might be nice for exercising the horses,  a man needs to go home looking the part so  Canary Wharf for a gentleman’s outfitter conv

places to eat and…look I am staying out of gin palaces  but it doesn’t mean I can’t quaff a few pints of ale, now does  it?

……………………………………….DEVORLANE HAWLEY, not kindly lent, in fact not lent at all by SHEHANNE MOORE.

Blurb.

conv

LovingLadyLazuli_ByShehanneMoore-PrintMaster

Only one man in England can identify her. Unfortunately he’s living next door.

Ten years ago sixteen year old Sapphire, the greatest jewel thief England has ever known, ruined Lord Devorlane Hawley’s life. Now she’s dead and buried, all the respectable widow, Cassidy Armstrong, wants is the chance to prove who she really is.

conp

 But not only does her new neighbor believe he knows that exactly, he’s hell-bent on revenge.  All he needs is the actual proof.  So when he asks her to choose between being his mistress, or dangling on the end of a rope, only Sapphire can decide…

 What’s left for a woman with nowhere left to go, but to stay exactly where she is?

 And hope, that when it comes to neighbors, Devorlane Hawley won’t prove to be the one from hell.

Available Fru 17th Jan

You can find Shehanne Moore  here.

related media

https://furiousunravelings.wordpress.com/2013/07/31/miladys-book-club-welcomes-shehanne-moore/

See our other guests on the books we have read page.

