Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I trust you like my little tree I have spent the odd hour decorating while Shehanne pays me no attention whatsoever, being too busy  concocting the most salacious and shocking version of the  12 days of Christmas I have ever heard, with Milady Lange.  Yes. In the salacious stakes they are not alone though. I promised Milord Crow I would do something with the lovely gift Milady Clark bestowed upon me. And, if you look closely you will see that I have. conv

It is in honor of the Christmas recipes he is going to share, and not just with Shehanne, I am told.  I did have a better tree but Flint threw it off the ship.  He is so fond of throwing things off ships. With the exception of Myrtle who hasn’t been seen since, the pirates are all busy making their Christmas lists–more of that in a future, more festive blog, although I think we can all guess what Taliano wants….

pirate 11

Although I must say he already has his two front teeth. That  is not the problem. THEY are.

Anyway here we are today with Milord Romilly.

convMilord Romilly has indeed been here before and so obviously shares in common, with all our other guests, the burning desire to return…..

Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover as you can all see today. here in Cherbourg harbour on the north coast of Franceconv

 Can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland? 

 Yes, but how long have you got? Methinks not too long, so I’ll give you the barebones of my travels, or perhaps I should call them travails. I sailed from Amsterdam in the aftermath of a huge storm and wound up on the PeeDee river in a place called Jamesville in Carolina. I fell in love, but my soulmate blew me out and guess what? I came back across the Atlantic in a liner called the White Lady which docked in Toulon on the south coast of France. Shiver me timbers, I’m feeling seasick just thinking about it all.

Then I travelled north to Cherbourg, and that’s when I saw Flint’s ship in the harbour.  A lovely vessel, but I’m not sure I could say the same about the crew. They’re a bunch of scurvy knaves, to be sure.

They  are making you nothing less that welcome though, I trust?

 So far I’m having a great time, although my liver isn’t. I’ve drunk so much rum I can hardly stand up. I don’t know how they manage to sail anywhere. They’re so sozzled I don’t think they could see the mainsail, let alone run it up the mast. In fact I’m not sure they can even see the mast. But Flint whips them into shape when necessary, literally.

Well, so long as we stay one step ahead of Lady Margaret, that is all that counts. You have brought me a pleasing little gift I see. conv

 Yes, Cherbourg is full of flowers. I picked you this beautiful chrysanthemum.

Well, between us Milord, when Flint see this let us just say he will steal me another tree.  Now….you have met the charming members of the club. Can you tell us why we should each of us spend a week reading your new novel Cli-Fidelity, as opposed to making paper chains and writing our Christmas lists?  conv

 Cli-Fidelity is about a nuclear reactor with a difference – he’s underwater, tethered to the sea bed.  He’s performed so well that the French government holds a special top-level conference to celebrate his twentieth birthday. But when science journalist Zeta Solek is invited on a promotional visit she gets more than she bargained for, certainly not the group photo and commemorative DVD.

Her sister Dayna, a medical student on placement at Guy’s Hospital London, also finds her life turned upside down, but in a very different way. She’d been hoping to meet up with her boyfriend Marc, but an overnight stay in the Tower, a sturdy skyscraper attached to the hospital, puts paid to all her plans.

Thrown into this mix is Jules, a nuclear scientist with a curious obsession.  He may be a scientist, but he has more than particle physics on his mind.

Set in 2050, Cli-Fidelity is the sequel to 500 Parts Per Million, although the story can be read independently. It has plenty of action and love interest, but above all it’s a tale of climate instability, a world where four people try to survive whatever the extreme weather throws at them.  Prepare yourself for a bumpy ride.

While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women, he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? Already we have four gondolas aboard.

 It’s a good job he didn’t help himself to my boat. I might have ended up swimming across the Atlantic. But pirates always like their booty, and I’m not sure there’s much you can do about it. You could whip him with a cat o’ nine tails, but knowing Flint he’d probably like that. I wonder if you could persuade him to go to counselling sessions. I believe they have anger management courses for pirates, so perhaps they also have a course in booty management.

Hmmmm? I will ask Santa Claus.

Mama’s kitchen https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=ts conv

most thoughtfully provided our festive fare today, largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches.  Do you have any tips for making them try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught.

 Lace all those lovely cupcakes with rum and that should do the trick. The crew will be back on board as quick as you can say Jolly Roger. But not too much, otherwise they’ll be falling over each other.  

 The city of Cherbourg is lovely I am sure.  What sites ­– if any — do you intend visiting here when you leave the ship? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never saw me, or Flint?

Okay, it’s a deal. But I’m sure Flint won’t want to hang around here too long, because Cherbourg harbour houses some mighty warships belonging to the French navy. I’m sure they’ll be very interested in his presence here. But the city is worth a visit. It’s bathed in the Gulf Stream and has an exceptionally temperate climate.conv

The parks and gardens overflow with an amazing variety of plants usually only found in tropical climes, so I’ll definitely take a walk around them. I’ll try and find you another beautiful flower to accompany that chrysanthemum.

PETER ROMILLYconv

BLURB .

The Year is 2050. Technology is dead. So are their plans.

Cli-Fidelity is a nuclear reactor with a difference – he’s underwater, tethered to the sea bed. He’s performed so well that the French government holds a special top-level conference to celebrate his twentieth birthday. But when Zeta Solek is invited on a promotional visit, she gets more than she bargained for, certainly not the group photo and commemorative DVD.

Her sister Dayna, a medical student on placement at Guy’s Hospital London, also finds her life turned upside down, but in a very different way. She’d been hoping to meet up with her boyfriend Marc, but an overnight stay in the Tower, a sturdy skyscraper  attached to the hospital, puts paid to all her plans.

Thrown into this mix is Jules, a nuclear scientist with a curious obsession. He may be a scientist, but he has more than particle physics on his mind.

Set in 2050, Cli-Fidelity is the sequel to 500 Parts Per Million, although the story can be read independently. It’s a tale of climate instability, a world where four people try to survive whatever the extreme weather throws at them. Prepare for a bumpy ride.

UK:  www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00H7F33PA  or

US:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H7F33PA  or

Australia: www.amazon.com.au/dp/B00H7F33PA or

Canada: www.amazon.ca/dp/B00H7F33PA

Meet Peter here.

http://peteromilly.com/

https://twitter.com/PeterRomilly

https://en-gb.facebook.com/pages/PeterRomilly/33618918981311

RELATED MEDIA

https://furiousunravelings.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/miladys-club-welcomes-peter-romilly/

http://shehannemoore.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/day-three-forget-the-chair-grab-the-raft/

http://shehannemoore.wordpress.com/…/the-november-author-interview-500p

To see our other guests visit the Books We Have Read page.

