Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, such time was had reading Milady Rogers’ book, it again made me question the logic of trying to raise these humble pirates to anything approaching reciting  their ABC’s, let alone read War and Peace. Still one tries, even if Taliano  thought the cover was for licking.  and Squire Jack thought Milady Rogers was for much the same. I think it was the pink slippers that did it.

convand the chocolate soup. But there what would life be without its trials. Today we have a most delectable guest who writes in the Historical genre. Yes. The lovely Milady Ellis is joining us all the way from Ohio–a  rather unfortunate name for the pirates to attempt to say, if indeed you can picture them trying.,,,here in Talum, Mexico.  conv

Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover today here in Tulum, a charming place in Mexico. Can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland? 

 Sure thing. I flew in to Cancún and enjoyed a couple of piña coladas and some other drink with an umbrella in it before heading for the bus station. Unfortunately, I was a bit tipsy and ended up on the third-class bus, where I had to ride on the outside of the vehicle, holding on for dear life. I’m not sure what happened to my luggage.

Gracious. What was in these drinks, for I am sure it would be that  was at fault. The crew are making you and your umbrella which I see is still between your teeth, welcome  however I trust?conv

 

Once they realized who I was underneath all the dust and sunburn, they went all out to help me get cleaned up and recover from my ordeal, even finding me a nice shady spot where I can sit and nurse my tomato juice between applications of aloe vera. So kind and considerate!

Hmmmm…. If they never gave you the tomato juice? You have brought me a pleasing little gift I see.

 Huh? What gift? Oh, if you mean this,conv

these are the keys to the car I rented to drive to the Coba Ruins tomorrow—no more buses for me, thank you very much! But you can go with me if you like. You’ll need good walking shoes and lots of mosquito repellent, though. No? You’d rather laze on the beach all day? Okay, well, I guess I can bring you back a souvenir from the ruins.

Well, that may be preferable. Now….you  have met the charming members of the club. Can you tell us why we  should each of us spend a week reading your book, Treasuring Theresa?

 Well, it shouldn’t take you a week to read Treasuring Theresa, since it’s only about 45 pages. In fact, you can probably read it in an hour or two. But you’ll probably want to read the epilogue on my website when you’re finished, so I’d say maybe three hours tops, and that leaves you plenty of time for bathroom breaks.

I think you should read it because (1) I suffered great hardship in making this trip to Tulum upon your request, (2) it’s my first published work and that makes it special, and (3) it’s a finalist in the short romance category of the EPIC eBooks Awards.

And because it’s a sweet, lighthearted romance that will touch your heart.

It’s the story of Damian Ashby, a rather uppity viscount who disdains anything rustic, particularly his distant cousin, Lady Theresa, who at first glance appears to have no social graces whatsoever. Her father’s deathbed request that he wed the chit who would otherwise be homeless when Damian inherits her father’s estate leaves him cold. But the country Theresa is not at all like the green girl he knew in London. Not to mention that as his stay lengthens, he finds himself appreciating the country—and the country girl—a good deal more than he ever expected.

Gracious, you quite woo me with this talk of deathbed requests, while I can see Myrtle is excited enough to want to take action and peck a few eyes out. As for Tibbs, I think Tibbs just want to peck you . While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women, he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? Already we have four gondolas aboard.

 My suggestion: sit him down and make him watch a “Hoarders” marathon from beginning to end. That should have him throwing junk overboard in no time at all. If that doesn’t work, I know a psychiatrist who specializes in pirate hoarding syndrome. Just let me know if you’d like to try that route.

YOu know, that is the wisest answer anyone has given me. Mama’s kitchen https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=tsconv

most thoughtfully provided our fare today, largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches.  Do you have any tips for making them try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught.

 

Does Mama’s Kitchen make anything but cupcakes? Because I shouldn’t think a steady diet of cupcakes would do much to satisfy a hunky pirate’s appetite. My suggestion is: bring in Gordon Ramsay from “Hell’s Kitchen” to show them how a kitchen should be run. He should be able to get even the meanest pirate out there to do his share.

Or you could hire a drop-dead gorgeous chef. That might do the trick.

Again the most sensible of answers Milady. I do think you might return here.  

Tulum is quite a lovely place, what sites do you intend visiting here when you leave the ship? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never saw me, or Flint? conv

 

I’ve already mentioned the Coba ArchaeologicalPark…I love ancient ruins, probably because I’m a history nut from way back. Then there’s the Delphinus aquarium, where you can swim and play with dolphins…they’re so cute and friendly, don’t you think? Then there’s Cenotes, where you can swim and snorkel around the caverns. I’m so excited about this unexpected visit…thanks so much for inviting me!

And if anyone asks, I never heard or saw any pirates.

******

 Susana Ellis

treasuringtheresa_9781419944093_msrAt the betrothal ball of the man she had expected to marry herself, Lady Theresa latches on to the most dashing gentleman present, hoping to divert attention from her own humiliation. That gentleman happens to be her father’s distant cousin and heir, Damian Ashby, a useless London fribble, in her opinion. He is not favorably impressed with her either.

But when her father becomes mortally ill and Damian is unwillingly obligated to spend time with her at the Earl’s country estate, the two of them unexpectedly find admirable qualities in each other and discover a mutual attraction.

But can a London swell and a country lady ever make their diverse lives and interests work together?

A Blush® romance from Ellora’s Cave 

Ellora’s CaveAmazonBarnes & Noble • Kobo • Sony • AllRomance eBooks

About the Author

 

A former teacher, Susana is finally living her dream of being a full-time writer. She loves all genres of romance, but historical—Regency in particular—is her favorite. There’s just something about dashing heroes and spunky heroines waltzing in ballrooms and driving through Hyde Park that appeals to her imagination.

In real life, Susana is a lifelong resident of northwest Ohio, although she has lived in Ecuador and studied in Spain, France and Mexico. More recently, she was able to travel around the UK and visit many of the places she’s read about for years, and it was awesome! She is a member of the MaumeeValley and Beau Monde chapters of Romance Writers of America.

You can see the lovely Susana here

 

Web site • Email • Facebook • Twitter • Linked In • Pinterest • Google+Goodreadsn

Susana’s Parlour (Regency Blog) • Susana’s Morning Room (Romance Blog)

and read of our other guests on the Books we Have read page.

