Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Once again one wonders at the logic of trying to bring a little culture, a little learning  to the men, when one sees their reaction. Of course it would help greatly if Milord Romilly had not called that river the Peedee River, if authors would but consider the havoc they can cause when they do such things. The shock it gave poor Myrtle.

untitledShe couldn’t shut her beak. But there. Today we go from  Gozo, to Goa,  yes, where we hope the crew will behave in a more appropriate fashion as they welcome aboard the lovely Milady Sharon Struth, who has crossed continents to be with us today. Unlike the crew who have merely been incontinent.

Felicitations on seeing you in our little stopover today here in Goa, a charming Indian place with beautiful gold coins and things….. . Can you tell us something about your journey from your homeland? 

First, Milady, I’m delighted to meet with your book club. It so happens that this week I will be meeting with my first in-person book club group – some wonderful ladies from my hometown of Bethel, Connecticut. Now I suspect there won’t be a pirate amongst them, or a parrot…

I do not know why not.

……but I value all my readers on land and on sea.Bethel

 Bethel, Connecticut is about an hour from New York City so you can imagine I had a long journey across the Atlantic Ocean and several continents to reach Goa, India. I won’t even go into details about my motion sickness

I am sure you would find yourself in sort of good company here… Not looking at any of these gentlemen with regard to their behaviour this week.

Well, let’s just say flying on my return trip home is definitely an option…

 Gracious. If only Myrtle was not so small.

Still, I’ve always wanted to travel to India and what better place to visit there than the lovely Goa.

 Then it was worth it and  Flint’s pirate crew are making you welcome I trust?

To be honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Pirates aren’t really a common site where I live. At least not nowadays. I did learn that back when the U.S. formed independence from Britain (1700’s), it had no navy so hired as many as 800 pirate vessels to fight the British ships at sea. I shared this little tidbit with the crew and it formed a sort of kinship between us. I even told them–if they want to improve their image a little–they could call themselves “privateers.”

That’s the term the US used so it didn’t sound like they were hiring pirates to do their dirty work against the British. Squire Jack seemed to latch onto the idea of calling himself a “privateer,” but the others disagreed. Seems that calling oneself a pirate is a real bad of honor. I sure hope I didn’t create any tension within the group, but I suspect they make enough of their own.

Well, Squire Jack will probably latch on to you to Sharon. You may even find him in your hand luggage. He is something of a trouble that way.  But it could be worse, it could have been Taliano.

pirate 11

 Still you have brought me a charming little gift I see?

Errrrrr…………………………….Yes.

Invisible too. Now……you have met all the charming members of the club. Can you tell us why they should each of them spend the week reading your book?

I think both the men and you Lady Fury would enjoy my heroine, Brenda McAllister and hero, CJ Morrison. Brenda is a psychologist and bestselling self-help author but she’s far from perfect. The suicide of her husband has left her wondering how she missed the signs of his desperation. A year after his death, she gets an assignment working with CJ Morrison, a bestselling author whose one big life-altering mistake still haunts him. CJ’s a tough guy on the surface; drives race cars, climbed Mt. Everest, can hold his own with liquor…bet the pirates would relate to him! And you Fury might latch onto his masculine appeal. Brenda finds that, as much as he annoys her, she can’t stop thinking about it either.

Well, some men have a most unfortunate affect that way.  Not that I have ever succumbed myself……

While I think I have cured Flint of eyeing other women, he is still a great one for eyeing everything else. He calls it booty. Is there anything I should do to disabuse him of helping himself to other people’s boats and their contents? I mean he keeps saying it is for me….

Ah, this is perhaps where Brenda McAllister’s skills might be of assistance. Her doctorate in psychology and a few sessions with Flint could be in order to find out why he can’t stop himself to a little booty every now and again. In the meantime, enjoy the treasures.

 Mama’s kitchen -yes these are cakes not flowers- https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mamas-Kitchen/431002043619495?fref=tsbevc

most thoughtfully provided our fare today, largely because the pirates eschew the culinary arts for cutlass waving, drinking and frolicking on shore with wenches.  Do you have any tips for making them try at least to help my maid, Susan, in the galley? It is such a task and she gets quite fraught.

Tips? In my kitchen I have one tip for others…get out! Nothing is more annoying than trying to juggle several dishes on the stove and having a bunch of pirates under foot, making comments….and doing whatever else it is they do.

Well, we won’t talk of that after what they got up to this week, then there was the time they offered Milady Van Zandt a drink from a particular barret…   Goa is quite a lovely  place, what sites do you intend visiting here when you leave our ship? Provided of course, you first sign a disclaimer that you never saw me, or Flint ? 

Consider the disclaimer signed, sealed and delivered. I plan on spending a lot of time looking at the beautiful waters off the coast of Goa…

goa-beach-tour

 

Perhaps visit Fort Goa…

Fort_Aguada

Or visit one of the many well-known caves throughout the state of Goa…

images

 Gracious Shehanne’s new hero lives in one….

Well, I always prefer the best accommodations so prefer to stay in this lovely hotel. Park-Hyatt-Goa-Resort-and-Spa

SHARON STRUTH

TTheHourglass_BySharonStruth-600x900he Hourglass

Can forgiveness survive lies and unspoken truths?

Until Brenda McAllister’s husband committed suicide, she appeared to have the ideal life: a thriving psychology practice, success as a self-help author, and a model family. But her guilt over her affair with Jack’s best friend prevents her from moving on. Did Jack learn of her infidelity? Was she the cause of his death?

The release of Brenda’s second book forces her into an unexpected assignment with arrogant celebrity author CJ Morrison, whose irritating and edgy exterior hides the torment of his own mistakes. But as she grows closer to CJ, Brenda learns she wasn’t the only one with secrets—Jack had secrets of his own, unsavory ones that may have led to his death. While CJ helps Brenda uncover the truth about her husband, she finds the path to forgiveness isn’t always on the map.

FIND SHARON HERE. Hopefully minus Squire Jack.

www.sharonstruth.com

The Hourglass Webpage with Trailer, Excerpts and Book Group Questions: www.thehourglassnovel.com

Blogging at Musings from the Middle Ages: www.sharonstruth.wordpress.com

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/kindle-store/dp/B00CIX1YDO

Barnes& Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/u/romantic-nook-books-ebooks/379003088

All Romance Ebooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-thehourglass-1173513-149.html

Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/The-Hourglass/book-bZt6Dbk3kkuXEZC0m2PStg/page1.html

SEE PREVIOUS GUESTS BY VISITING OUR  BOOKS WE HAVE READ PAGE.

RELATED INTERVIEWS

http://shehannemoore.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/on-not-getting-published/

